Over the past month, I've had several friends message me on MSN Messenger with something like this:
"check out these awesome pics from the awesome party LOL
http://www.gone-wild-patry-pics.com"
When I follow the link in the message, I'm greeted with a prompt for my MSN account information. The page doesn't look reputable at all, and the "terms of service" are plastered all over the bottom.

By providing MSN account information, a visitor grants this company permission to log into the MSN account and send advertisements to everyone on the buddy list. Among other interesting clauses in the "terms of service," the company also claims the following.
- "... the right to change the terms of use / privacy policy at any time without notice."
- "... this agreement shall prevail if there is any conflict between this agreement and the terms of use you accepted when you signed up with MSN."
- "... TST Management, Inc is NOT agreeing to MSN's terms of use and therefore not bound by them."
- "You expressly consent to the exclusive venue and personal jurisdiction of the courts located in the Republic of panama for any actions arising from or relating to this agreement."
The most entertaining aspect of all this is that I know exactly which friends fell for this trick. I would encourage anyone who provided login credentials to this fradulent web site to change your MSN password immediately! Your friends will thank you.

Recent Comments